#### Minutes

## Academic Senate of Hawai'i Community College

Fourth Meeting of the Semester Friday, April 26, 2019 12-2pm 388-101 (Manono) & Koali, Rm. 101 (Pālamanui)

Call to Order: 12:07 PM Claudia Wilcox-Boucher (Chair)

Minutes: Robyn Kalauli (Secretary)

Attendees: Vivian Chin, Sandra Claveria, Erick Cremer, Karen Crowell, Sharon Dansereau, Kenoa Dela Cruz, Reshela DuPuis, Harold Fujii, Samuel Giordanengo, Meidor Hu, Lissandra Jenkins, Lucy Jones, Robyn Kalauli, Kristine Kotecki, Donna Madrid, Joshua McDaniel, Luzviminda Miguel, Carrie Mospens, Caroline Naguwa, Ruria Namba, Jesna Nissam, Tagi Qolouvaki, Beth Sanders, Kate Sims, Jana Smith, David Tsugawa, Leanne Urasaki, Debra Weeks, Claudia Wilcox-Boucher

- **1.** Ascertain quorum (10 senate members including 4 Exec. Comm. members)
  - Quorum ascertained
- 2. Roll Call and Introductions
- **3.** Approval of the March 29, 2019 minutes (Attachment 1)
  - Motion to approve minutes (Harold Fujii/Sam Giordanengo)
- Minutes unanimously approved with the following correction under Old Business, DE: An AVID training will be given on May 14-15 (delete for video conferencing).
- **4.** Senate Chair Report (Attachment 2, 3,)- DC Checklist & Faculty and Staff Development (FSD) Report On Boarding follow-up. Please review the links below, as the Chair's report summarized the information contained within these links.
  - Division/Department Chair Duties and Responsibilities
  - Faculty Staff Development Committee Faculty Onboarding Report
  - GUESTS: Sherise Tiogangco Interim Registrar & Admissions and Records Manager 12:15-12:30pm (Rescheduled for the August Senate meeting)
  - "No Show Policy HawCC and the Fall 2019 New Administration of Disenrollment for Non-Tuition Payment." The new administrative disenrollment policy was cancelled, and disenrollment due to non-payment will occur as before, with the disenrollment date of August 15, 2019.
  - Ken Kaleiwahea Interim Vice Chancellor of Administrative Affairs "2019-20 Budget draft" 1:30-2pm. Please see Ken's memo to Senate. In addition to the topics summarized in the memo and attachments within the memo, there was a discussion about charging stations for electric cars on our campuses. According to Ken, the state does not subsidize charging stations but it does require them. We will have one station at Pālamanu, one in Hilo, and NHERC currently has a charging station. Ideally, the charging stations will be in highly visible places on campus, but the details regarding monitoring charging stations to ensure that one car is not parked at a charging station all day need to be discussed.

### 5. Old Business – items for discussion/revision/approval

- Motion to vote on attachments 4-12 as a consent agenda (Reshela DuPuis/Harold Fujii)
- Motion to accept consent agenda (Harold Fujii/Jana Smith)
- Motion carries (one abstention)
- a. CRC (Jana Smith) att. 4,
- b. DE (Kate Sims) att. 5, 6,
- c. EPC- (Toni Cravens) att. 7,
- d. FPC (Karen Crowell) att. 8,
- e. GEC- (James Schumaker and Caroline Naguwa) att. 9,
- f. HAP- (No'el Tagab-Cruz) att. 10,
- g. WI (Sharon Dansereau) att. 11,
- h. Sustainability (Drew Kapp) att. 12,
- i. Bullying Survey for Hawai'i CC Report (AdHoc Committee/task force with College Council and Administration)
  - No update/report
- j. Faculty Concerns Taskforce
  - No update/report
- k. Sustainability Resolutions #2019-2 (Electric Vehicle) & #2019-3 (Compostable Products) att. 13, 14
  - Motion to combine Resolution #2019-2 and Resolution #2019-3 (Harold Fujii/Sam Giordanengo)
  - Motion carries (one opposed/one abstain)
  - Resolutions will be sent to the administration team

#### 6. New Business

- a. Resolution #2019-4 (Contract Renewal, Tenure and Promotion Expectations) 1<sup>st</sup> reading att.
  - Motion to accept Resolution #2019-4 with a first read only (Sam Giordanengo/Debbie Weeks)
  - Suggestions were made to reword many points in the Progress Report, such as the checklist item asking probationary faculty to meet with a tenured professor (make this option open to nontenured faculty, too) and addition of information specific to noninstructional faculty.
  - Motion to resend the motion to accept Resolution #2019-4 with a first read only (Karen Crowell/Debbie Weeks)
  - Motion approved
- b. Peer Online Evaluation att.16
  - Motion to approve the Peer Online Evaluation (Harold Fujii/Leanne Urasaki)
  - Motion approved
- b. Elections 2019-2020 att.17
  - Nominations for 2019-2020 CRC Chair
  - Jana Smith was nominated
  - Donna Madrid and Ku'ulei Kanahele were nominated to co-chair
  - After discussion, it was suggested that Jana Smith and Ku'ulei Kanahele co-chair the committee
  - Motion to vote on the nomination (Leanne Urasaki/Kenoa Dela Cruz)
  - Motion approved
  - Motion to nominate Jana Smith and Ku'ulei Kanahele as CRC co-chairs (Harold Fujii/Sandra Claveria)

Motion approved

## 7. For the Good of the Order

- a. UHPA Update (David Tsugawa)
  - Please take part in the Rate My Administrator survey
- b. End of the Year Faculty Pauhana May 9, 2019 at the Hilo Yacht Club 5:00-8:30pm (new date)

# 7. Adjourn

- Motion to adjourn meeting (Harold Fujii/Sandra Claveria)
- Motion approved; meeting adjourned at 2:02 PM.

**Next meeting:** Friday, August 23, 2019 @ 12pm, Manono – 388-103, Palamanui – Koali, Rm.101