

Curriculum Review Committee Senate Report

October 26, 2018

'A'ohe hana nui ke alu 'ia. No task is too big when done together by all.

- The Curriculum Review Committee currently consists of Reshela DuPuis, Mitchell Soares, Laura Hill, Robyn Kalauli, Donna Madrid, Bernhard Laurich, Tracy Kanahele, Jana Smith (chair). We also have great support from Shyann Davis, our Kuali expert.
- ➤ We still need a BEAT representative and someone for Palamanui campus.
- The Committee meets on <u>every</u> Monday from 2:30-4:30 pm, until all the proposals are handled. They need to be processed before the catalogue deadline. December 31st.
- ➤ Meetings are held in 379-6B until AC is fixed. Parking and snacks varied and available.
- To expedite processing and for clarity of rationale, proposers are invited to attend the meeting when their proposals will be reviewed. Faculty can track when their proposal will be up for review. The following link is to the CRC agendas in Kuali:
- > https://hawaii.kuali.co/cm/#/agendas/view/59c04d708e0993010040acbd
- ➤ A matrix of proposal progress will soon be available through Curricula Affairs Portal under "Fall 2018 Proposals" link. Members are currently linked through the Gmail/Google Team Drive.
- Each week, slated proposals are reviewed and approved or returned.
- ➤ Many proposals are on the Senate agenda today. It is a combination of unfinished ones from last Senate and ones from then till now. Resh will facilitate the review for Senate.
- > A Vice-Chair was nominated and she has accepted Laura Hill. Continuity is everything.
- There is a draft policy for the CRC that is being reviewed by the EPC and CRC. We hope to submit it for Senate review in November. (This will be an official policy!)
- ➤ We are also working on a faculty Proposal Checklist to help new faculty or faculty new to the process ensure that their proposals have all the elements needed before submitting. We hope that this will eliminate a lot of returning of proposals and expediting of the approval process.
- Respectfully submitted,

Jana Smith, Chair

Jana Jimen, Chan