Top of Page

Hawai‘i CC Phi Theta Kappans Named Pacific Region’s Distinguished Chapter Officer Team

Phi Theta Kappa Alpha Psi Epsilon Chapter members are pictured above. Top row, L-R: Kacie Kunioka-Volz, Jae Dreams, Skye Lowder, Craig Kekahuna, Jonnie Manon and Elton Nakagawa. Front row, L-R: Co-Advisor Karen Crowell, Candiss Parker, M. Gracie Mamczarz, and Lead Advisor Kenoa Dela Cruz.

Members of Hawai‘i Community College’s Alpha Psi Epsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society attended the 2018 Pacific Regional Convention at Leeward Community College where they were recognized with chapter and individual awards. These awards included:

  • Distinguished Chapter Officer Team: Charles Bauguess, Nicholas Eisen, Maile Kamau,Kacie Kunioka-Volz, Marry Grace Mamczarz and Emmaline Villanos
  • Distinguished Chapter Officer: Charles Bauguess
  • Five Star Chapter Development Status
  • REACH Award

To learn more about the new Honors Topic, “Transformations: Acknowledging, Assessing and Achieving Change,” the Phi Theta Kappans were also able to visit Pearl Harbor and the USS Arizona Memorial.

"Mahalo to the Hawai‘i CC Kauhale for your support of the student leaders and their fundraising efforts," said Lead Advisor Kenoa Dela Cruz. "Thank you to the Hawai‘i CC Student Government for allocating funds to provide chapter members the opportunity to attend leadership and honors conferences."

Chartered in 1993, Alpha Psi Epsilon and its members represent the top 10 percent of students enrolled at Hawai‘i CC. Students must earn a 3.5 minimum, cumulative grade point average and 12 credits toward an associateʻs degree prior to being invited to join the society. Alpha Psi Epsilon members participate in year-round activities that promote the organizationʻs four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. Alpha Psi Epsilon will be celebrating its 25th Anniversary in April 2018.